SegwayPolo Deutschland e.V.

WOZ-Challenge Cup 2023 Köln

Live-Show "ZDF-Fernsehgarten" 26.07.2020

Segwaypolo / WOZ-Cup 2019 Stockholm/Schweden

Segwaypolo in Paradise / Barbados 2018

Winning Team: Green Monkeys

Segwaypolo in Paradise  -  2018

Green Monkeys Crowned 2018 Barbados Cup Champions

A solid 4-2 win over the Calypso Kings, saw the Green Monkeys being crowned champions when the curtains fell on the 2018 Barbados Cup – Segway Polo in Paradise, which took place on Monday night at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex.


At the end of the pool matches, Rum Punchers were the heavy favourites to take the title as they played undefeated in Pool A, while Green Monkeys amassed 13 points in Pool B. However, it wasn’t meant to be for the Rum Punchers, as they fell short against the Calypso Kings in the semifinals, losing 1-0 in sudden death penalties. The Green Monkeys cruised to a 3-0 victory over the Soca Monarchs in the other semifinal to set the stage for a highly anticipated final.


Two of Barbados’ top Segway Polo players, Daniel Hatch and Nevin Roach, led the Green Monkeys and the Calypso Kings respectively in the final. Creative attacks, solid defense, clinical passing and stylish dribbling were all served on a platter by both teams, much to the delight of spectators on the sidelines.


German international player Werner Ledwig connected well with Hatch on attack, and the duo was

able to capitalize on a defensive error by the Calypso Kings in the fourth minute of the game. Hatch then completed his brace 1 minute later with another strike, to secure a 2-0 advantage.


A pinpoint lobbed pass from Lutz Dombdera beat the Green Monkeys defense, to set Roach up with an easy finish past German custodian Barbel Krahforst. This saw the chukka ending 2-1 in favour of the Green Monkeys.


A high press from Ledwig early in the second chukka resulted in the Calypso Kings conceding an unfortunate goal. The ball ricocheted off Ledwig’s Segway from a goal hit, into the net past German Robert Von Otte, who eventually won the award for ‘Best Goalie’.


Ledwig increased the lead to 4-1 just before the end of the chukka, leaving his opponents in an even bigger hole. Still determined, the Calypso Kings returned in the third chukka with Philip Evelyn blasting the ball into the net off of Dombdera’s corner, to make the score 4-2. The score remained unchanged and when the final whistle blew the Green Monkeys were crowned champions.


Mirroring the score in the finals the third place playoff saw the Rum Punchers defeating the Soca Monarchs 4-2.


Copyright - 2014